Paris, France – June 13, 2017

Today the Administration and Fellows of the National Center for Technology and Dispute Resolution (NCTDR) agreed to jointly create a new non-profit organization, tentatively called the International Consortium for Online Dispute Resolution (or ICODR), to promote quality ODR around the world.

ICODR is envisioned to work in a complementary fashion to NCTDR. While NCTDR will continue to lead in the development of the theory and practice that undergird ODR (through such activities as hosting the annual ODR Forum, the ACR Cyberweek online conference, the International Journal of ODR, and the website, ICODR will have a more formal governance structure, with a focus on promoting principles and standards to promote ethical ODR design and practice.

Some of the activities envisioned for ICODR include:

  • Promotion of access, use, and public understanding/education of ODR
  • Engaging diverse communities in the development of ODR
  • Promulgation of standards and best practices for ODR programs
  • Certification and ongoing auditing of ODR programs against those standards
  • Memberships for ODR practitioners, providers, academic programs, and businesses
  • Training and continuing education for ODR practitioners
  • Mentoring and career services for ODR professionals

With the growth of ODR around the world, and growing interest from commercial and judicial institutions, there is a need for ODR systems design standards and ongoing monitoring to ensure compliance. ODR must evolve in line with the ethical principles NCTDR has developed and refined over the last twenty years, and the aspiration of the founders listed below is for ICODR to play a positive and central role in shaping the future of that evolution.


Top Row: Brian Hutchison, Colin Rule, Alberto Elisavetsky, Mohamed Abdel Wahab, Pablo Cortes, Andy Lee,
Chittu Nagarajan, Janet Martinez, Orna Rabinovich-Einy, Daniel Rainey; Bottom Row: David Larson, Zbynek Loebl,
Ethan Katsh, Leah Wing, Ian MacDuff, Mirèze Philippe, Graham Ross, Jeff Aresty, Jin Ho Verdonschot, Aura Esther Vilalta; Not Pictured: Benjamin Davis, Vikki Rogers, Irene Sigismondi